Tags

, ,

RaInBow

Hello there!

Some of you who are reading this are aware that I have been debating about whether or not to blog for a while now. Well, since you are reading this, you now know what I ultimately decided!

I was hesitant about whether or not to blog for several reasons. The first was related to stewardship of my time. Do I need another distraction? Certainly not; however, I decided that blogging would be helpful to me because it is easier not only to share my thoughts, but to search for things I wrote about at a later date. You see, journaling is wonderful–until you try to find something you journaled about who knows how many days ago!

The second reason I was hesitant was because I don’t feel like my life is that interesting; I don’t know that I have much to offer. A wise friend told me “If your goal is to entertain, then that matters. But if your goal is to share your thoughts and your heart, then just do. There is no boring factor to consider.” What great insight! This made me think: Where would we be as Christians if we based what we gave the world on what we -thought- we have to offer? How different would the Bible read if it were based on people’s opinions of themselves, rather than what Christ would do with them as He continued His good work in them? That brings me to answer the question that I am sure a few of you are wondering:

What’s with the name of this blog?

I’m so glad you wondered! I spent a lot of time considering the best name for my blog, and ultimately decided on Living For FOG. What is FOG? Fog is my acronym for the Favor Of God.
You see, I am far from perfect. It is only through God’s favor that I am saved; in sending His son to die for my sins, he showed me favor– kindness, generosity, grace– beyond anything I could have ever hoped for, and certainly quite the opposite of what I deserve.
How does one live for the favor of God?
-By praying unto the Lord (Job 33:26)
-By keeping His commandments (Prov 3:1-4)
-By seeking and finding God’s wisdom (Prov 8:35)
-By diligently seeking good (Prov 11:27, 12:2)
-By living righteously (Prov 14:9)

With all that said, an excerpt that I really relate to favor is 2 Peter 1:2-9:
Grace and peace be yours in abundance through the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord.His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge;and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness;and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind,forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins. -The Bible, New English Translation

With all that being said, I felt that the name “Living for FOG” was an awesome all-encompassing name for what I will share on this blog- a little bit of anything and everything as God brings me to it AND brings me through it!

notluck

How did you name your blog? What is your favorite thing about God’s favor?

Until next time,
-Rachel

