Tonight we are attending my husband’s command Christmas party. It will be so nice to be able to spend the evening with him and meet some of his co-workers. I cherish every opportunity we have to “date” each other as a married couple. I had a hard time believing what people told me before we got married: that it would be hard to find time and resources to continue to date each other after marriage. I thought that was silly; how hard can it be if you live together? What I didn’t realize was how easy it would be to get caught up in the status quo. If we aren’t careful to safeguard our quality time together, then our relationship can become much like a business transaction. “Did you go grocery shopping?” “Have we paid X bill yet?” “I’m working tomorrow morning early” “Well, I’m working tomorrow evening, so I guess we will see each other 2 mornings from now”. Wow! It is so easy to get caught up in my stuff, my agenda, and lose sight of the big picture. Dates have become especially difficult with N’s school and work schedule combined with my school and work schedule. Tonight will be a wonderful break!

