Tags

,

Wives of faith has been doing a Christmas Blogging Carnival with writing prompts; head on over and check it out here! Today’s question is:

What is your favorite piece of Christmas clothing?

I haven’t participated in this yet because I haven’t had much to write about the topics they’ve discussed since I started blogging. I was going to skip today as well, because I don’t have a favorite piece of Christmas clothing personally… but that’s a good thing to blog about, right?!

I really enjoy Christmas; I look forward to celebrating Jesus’ birth every year. For that reason, my favorite “Christmas attire” would have to be the swaddling clothes that Mary wrapped Jesus in before she laid him in a manger. I think it serves as a fabulous reminder of what is important. Mary didn’t have to have the finest things; she used what she had to care for her precious and perfect son. Though he is the King of Kings, Jesus was wrapped in simple cloth and spent his first nights in a stable as there was no room in the inn.

Image

It is so easy for us to get caught up in our traditions and lose sight of the true reason for the season- the perfect love that God has for us; that he loves us so much that he sent his only Son to die for us. If you would like to read the story of the birth of Jesus, you can click here to be linked to the passage in Luke about it.

Christmas is not about the gifts or the clothing we have now; it’s about the gift of Jesus that was given to us thousands of years ago. For me, the biggest gift of Christmas (aside from celebrating Jesus and His gift of salvation) is the time spent with loved ones. Here are a few pictures from our Christmas last year.

Image
My younger sister, H.

Image
Dad, invariably opening another item of the Green Bay Packer variety, with Mom in the background (see, SHE has a nice Christmas outfit!)

Image
A
 very grainy picture of me and my now-husband, then-fiance, N.Image

My younger brother, C.

Image
My older sister and her husband.

What about you: do you have specific Christmas attire that you look forward to wearing for Christmas?

Blessings,
Rachel

Image

