28 Freezer Meals in 1 Hour and 20 Minutes
I recently posted a blog giving some background into why freezer cooking works for us. If you missed it, you can find it here.

freezercooking

Today, I am back to tell you a little more about this cook. As I said in the title of this post, this took us 1 hour and 20 minutes, and it yielded 28 meals (14 gallon size freezer bags with 4 servings each; so 2 meals total per bag for me and my husband).

It is really hard to say exactly what this cost us, because I do coupon… so a lot of the items that we use we did not purchase at full price. My husband made me a fancy tracking sheet (he’s an excel wizard)- my tracking sheet tells me that the cost on average of our freezer meals is $2.50 per serving– and that includes veggies as a side.

My recipes come from a variety of sources- many of them are adapted slightly for taste after the first time we try them.

On the Menu:
4 bags of Chicken Delicious (adapted from recipe found on this site)
6 bags of Beef Fajitas
4 bags of Lime Salsa Chicken

Remember, you will need gallon size freezer bags. I have had success with both the ziploc and glad brands. For freezer cooking, I don’t buy off-brand because I have found they tear more easily and that makes it a pain to thaw them out.

Step 1: Write the directions of how to cook and what to add day-of cooking onto the bag with a permanent marker before filling the bag.
Step 2: chop food
Step 3: fill bags
Step 4: Freeze
Step 5: If you bought the items that need to be added day of, you may want to note on the can/bag what you are saving it for. This definitely helps me as a couponer… that way I know what I have that is “Extra” and not reserved for a recipe, which helps me to make my grocery list next time. Also, unless otherwise noted, all ingredients are added to the bag uncooked.

To get any of the recipes, just download the picture and print. Voila!

chickendelicious

Chicken delicious freezer meal recipe and directions

Lime Salsa Chicken freezer meal recipe and directions

Lime Salsa Chicken freezer meal recipe and directions

Beef Fajitas recipe and directions

Beef Fajitas recipe and directions

Please let me know what you think about these recipes, and any tweaks you may choose to try! Are there any freezer meals that you make that you absolutely love? Please share them with us!

Blessings,
Rachel

