wof_wed

Today, I’m answering the question “What will you do differently this year than last? Why?”

I’ve thought a lot about my answer to this question today. In short, my answer is “To be more intentional”. This is a broad category, to be sure. I want to be more intentional in everything I do. I want to be more intentional in how I spend my time; I want to be more intentional in my relationships; I want to be more intentional in my quiet times; I want to be more intentional with how I choose to spend my free time.

We live in such a “plugged in” world. It is so easy to be distracted by the technology we have access to. While this technology can greatly improve our efficiency, I think it can be just as detrimental to how intentional we are with our time. Time management is a funny thing; I look back on seasons in my life where I had far more obligations and wonder, “How in the world did I get it all done?” I largely wonder this because there are days where I have a hard time accomplishing half of the things on my to-do list, and I’m nowhere near as busy right now as I was at this same time last year!

I also must be careful to not confuse efficiency with ‘intentionality’ (is this not a word? it’s in my vocabulary, even though spell-check is giving me the red underline!). I am guilty of not being able to see the forest for the trees when I get into a to-do list mentality. I become focused and driven, but at what cost? I definitely do not want to miss an opportunity to serve someone else just for the sake of checking items off of my list.

The only problem I am having is that trying to live with more intentionality makes it difficult to set goals, because I believe that it is difficult to set an easily tangible goal when you are fully surrendered to following God’s will. I certainly am just a small piece of God’s masterpiece, and within that small piece, I still have a difficult time seeing the big picture for me until most of the ‘drawing’ is complete. Even then, sometimes it takes years of perspective before we see the masterpiece that God created in our lives in a season for what it truly is… if we ever truly do grasp understanding of it at all (in this lifetime).

One of my ongoing prayers for the year is that God will empty me of my expectations for my life so that he can wholly fill me with His. Slowly but surely, The Lord is teaching me that while my eagerness to reach the things He has set before me is good, I must not take shortcuts. My assignment is beautifully simple- to follow Him, allowing Him to direct my path to and through the things set before me. To let those this beckon me onward, but to stay close to Him. I have a feeling that by focusing my effort of being more intentional first and foremost in my quiet times, the rest will fall into place.

I would love to hear from you! Did anything I said in this post stand out to you? What are you going to do differently this year than last?

At His feet,
Rachel

Wives of Faith is starting a weekly blog link-up called “Wife to Wife Wednesdays”; if you’re a military spouse, check it out and join in!

