Tags

wof_wed

I am linking up with Wives of Faith again for Wife to Wife Wednesdays! Today’s topic:
Pick a word to be YOUR word for 2013. What is it? Why?

As you can probably guess from my post last week (if you missed it, you can check it out here), my word for the year is intentional.

intentional

According to Merriam-Webster dictionary, the primary definition of intentional is “done by intention or design”. They define intention as “a determination to act in a certain way; resolve”.

I cannot think of a more fitting word or definition. I am determined to act in the way I was designed to act by God. That is the ultimate goal of being intentional. We live in a society where it is so easy to be consumed by distractions. We can often forget that the things we enjoy every day are big blessings other people are praying for. Food. Shelter. Freedom. Love. It is so easy to become wrapped up in the world of “me” and hence miss chances to be the hands and feet of Jesus.

I just finished the book “Undaunted” by Christine Caine (Thanks to Sarah for this wonderful birthday gift!) and all I can say is that once again I was affirmed that God has led me to a desire to live intentionally, even if I am not completely sure where to focus a lot of my effort. This book was an interesting answer to prayer, as it wasn’t a book that was on my radar at all. In this book, Christine talks about how hard it can be to not be intimidated or discouraged by difficulty, danger, or disappointment. I wonder how many times I have missed the chance to be a blessing to someone for fear of how that choice would affect ME. So, a goal of mine in seeking to be intentional this year is to be intentional about sharing my faith, even in the face of difficulty, danger, or disappointment. It makes me think of the Introduction Luke gives at the beginning of the book of Luke…. in a few short sentences, he basically says, Here, Theophilus… since I have studied this in so much detail for myself, it seemed like a good idea for me to write this out for you, just to help you know that the things you’ve been taught are true. How easy it is to overlook the significance of these few sentences.

Had he not taken the time to invest in his friend in such a way, how many may have missed out on the gospel message? Don’t I have the same opportunity to care for my friends in such a way as Luke did for Theophilus?

I am praying that by being intentional, I won’t miss opportunities that God gives me to be His hands and feet.

What about you? If you had to pick one theme word for 2013, what would it be and why?

Blessings,
Rachel

